61/365

March 2, 2010

So apparently life does go on…even when you would like to wallow, listen to sad songs all day and continue to question why…it goes on. And so I shop for food, we make beer, I find comfort in little things, I let the kids make weird things for dinner and I stumble upon a recipe for chewy granola bars that makes me a very happy girl.  So happy that I am going to share the recipe and implore you to make them for yourself. Implore you…that’s some serious business. The recipe comes from Smitten Kitchen, and it is a highly adaptable recipe. I used the minimum amount of sugar, but will probably go with even less next time, I replaced the corn syrup with molasses and used regular oats instead of the quick oats. I also used my buckwheat pancake mix instead of the oat flour, which is good, because now I have something to do with the mix (it made horrible pancakes). Next time I will replace the butter, but I didn’t want to go too crazy this time around. My bars have dried fruit, shredded coconut, walnuts, almonds, pepitas, sunflower seeds, wheat germ, flax meal and a handful of leftover dark chocolate m&ms (they wouldn’t be missed, but that random bite of chocolaty heaven sure is nice). Go make these…now.  And be sure to double your recipe, because one batch isn’t enough.

2 Responses to “61/365”

  1. Sarah said

    I am drooling. And once again I am blown away because I LOVE Smitten Kitchen too. Great minds, once again…

  2. oma said

    what cabinet are you hiding these in?

Leave a Reply

