202/365

July 21, 2010


Gram.  I thought she would live forever.  And she does.

I am so thankful to my Grammie (my great-grandmother) for saving these letters that Gram and Papa wrote. I read them and I hear their voices.  They are speaking; even through death and disease…they are speaking, and I hear them.

I have so many memories of Gram…vivid, distinct.  Jim’s accident, The Royal Wedding, Reagan’s campaign, Guiding Light, my desperate plea to run away at the ripe age of 5.  I learned things from her…moisturizing the face, resting the legs, working like a “trojan” and the best potato salad around.  She was an independent and strong woman, before that was the thing to be.  The most important jobs to her were to be a mother, wife and grandmother. Before all else, she cared for her family, because they meant the world to her.  But she had her opinions…and she wasn’t afraid to share them. She taught me to be a woman…unafraid, passionate, strong…one who enjoyed a good martini.  She comforted me and understood my mourning unlike anyone else; shared in my grief and remembered her own when I miscarried my babies.  And always, always treated me like I was the most important person in the world when she spoke to me; as she did with everyone.  Her love carried me, lifted me up and held me.

My loss.  But she is reunited with her beloved son.  Serving him tea…and she’ll have a cold, frosty mug of beer waiting for Papa when his time comes.

4 Responses to “202/365”

  1. Bill said

    I’ve thought a lot about my own memories… and we’ve talked a lot about Mom’s general qualities… but it was really nice to hear your specific remembrances, Sarah~ it brout me back to some really wonderful times. Thank you.

  2. Ali C said

    Beautiful memories of your grandmother. And a beautiful image.

  3. Sarah said

    Beautiful photo. Lovely memories too…thinking of you!

  4. Granny Lolly said

    How wonderful you can put your feelings into words. Beautiful words. Thanks, daughter.

Leave a Reply

